People

Our team of experts span a range of ages and disciplines, and work collaboratively within the University, with academics from other universities and with industry and government.

Details of nuclear researchers and visiting staff can be found on our researchers section.

Leadership and administrative team at based at Dalton Nuclear Institute, The University of Manchester:

Professor Francis Livens FRSC
Interim Director
Email: francis.livens@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4325

Professor Melissa A. Denecke
Scientific Director
Email: melissa.denecke@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 306 4302

Dr Sarah L. Heath
Director of Education
Email: sarah.l.heath@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4545

Maria Marsh
Executive Assistant to Director
Email: maria.marsh@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4325

Rachel Law
Outreach and Communications Officer
Email: rachel.law@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 306 2817

Sam Roberts
Administrator
Email: samantha.roberts@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4263

Leadership and administrative team based at Dalton Cumbrian Facility:

Professor Simon Pimblott
Director
Email: simon.pimblott@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8850

Kevin Warren
Director of Operations & Sustainability
Email: kevin.warren@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8851

Anne Knott
DCF Commercial Manager
Email: anne.knott@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8852

Ruth Edge
Laboratory Manager & Experimental Officer
Email: ruth.edge@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8857

Mark White
Health & Safety Experimental Officer
Email: mark.a.white@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8873

Gyorgyi Glodan
SEM & Materialography Experimental Officer
Email: gyorgyi.glodan@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8855

Nick Mason
Ion Accelerator Experimental Officer
Email: nicholas.mason-2@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8871

Vicky Irving
DCF Buildings & Operations Manager
Email: victoria.irving@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8859

Andy Smith
Accelerator Beam Line Experimental Officer
Email: andy.smith@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8874

Rebecca Shepherd
DCF Directors' Executive Assistant & Administrator
Email: rebecca.shepherd@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8854

Colette Quinn
Receptionist & Administrative Assistant
Email: colette.quinn@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8888

Helen Astley
Receptionist & Administrative Assistant
Email: helen.astley@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8888

Energy research beacon

The University of Manchester’s research beacons are examples of pioneering discoveries, interdisciplinary collaboration and cross-sector partnerships that are tackling some of the biggest questions facing the planet. We are pioneering the energy systems of the future so that we can continue to heat our homes, light our buildings and travel. Discover more about our Energy research beacon. 

Vicky Plane
Communications and Marketing Manager - Energy research (Faculty of Science and Engineering)
Email: vicky.plane@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4305

▲ Up to the top