People

Our team of experts span a range of ages and disciplines, and work collaboratively within the University, with academics from other universities and with industry and government.

Leadership and administrative team at based at Dalton Nuclear Institute, The University of Manchester:

Professor Francis Livens FRSC
Director
Email: francis.livens@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4325

Professor Melissa A. Denecke
Scientific Director
Email: melissa.denecke@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 306 4302

Professor Sarah L. Heath
Director of Education
Email: sarah.l.heath@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4545

Professor Katherine Morris
Lead for Nuclear Environment and Waste
Email: katherine.morris@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 7541

Professor Richard Taylor
BNFL Chair in Nuclear Energy Systems
Email: richard.taylor-4@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)7505 730 089

Jacqui Grant
Operations Manager
Email: jacqui.grant@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4324

Maria Marsh
Executive Assistant to Director
Email: maria.marsh@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4325

Rachel Law
Outreach and Communications Officer
Email: rachel.law@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 306 2817

Sam Roberts
Administrator
Email: samantha.roberts@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4263

Leadership and administrative team based at Dalton Cumbrian Facility:

Professor Fred Currell
DCF Director
Email: frederick.currell@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8850

Kevin Warren
Director of Operations & Sustainability
Email: kevin.warren@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8851

Anne Knott
DCF Commercial Manager
Email: anne.knott@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8852

Ruth Edge
Laboratory Manager & Experimental Officer
Email: ruth.edge@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8857

Mark White
Health & Safety Experimental Officer
Email: mark.a.white@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8873

Gyorgyi Glodan
SEM & Materialography Experimental Officer
Email: gyorgyi.glodan@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8855

Nick Mason
Ion Accelerator Experimental Officer
Email: nicholas.mason-2@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8871

Andy Smith
Accelerator Beam Line Experimental Officer
Email: andy.smith@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8874

Paul Wady
Ion Accelerator Experimental Officer
Email: paul.wady@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8868

Samir de Moraes Shubeuta
Ion Accelerator Experimental Officer
Email: samir.demoraesshubeita@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)7990 771 618

Morven Wilson
Receptionist
Email: morven.wilson@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8888

Rebecca Shepherd
DCF Directors' Executive Assistant & Administrator
Email: rebecca.shepherd@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8854

Colette Quinn
Administrative Assistant
Email: colette.quinn@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)194 650 8872

Energy research beacon

The University of Manchester’s research beacons are examples of pioneering discoveries, interdisciplinary collaboration and cross-sector partnerships that are tackling some of the biggest questions facing the planet. We are pioneering the energy systems of the future so that we can continue to heat our homes, light our buildings and travel. Discover more about our Energy research beacon. 

Vicky Taylor-Plane
Communications and Marketing Manager - Energy Research (Faculty of Science and Engineering)
Email: vicky.taylor-plane@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4305

▲ Up to the top