Mobile menu icon
Skip to navigation | Skip to main content | Skip to footer
Mobile menu icon Search iconSearch
Search type

Dalton Nuclear Institute

Check-shirted man wearing glasses, leaning against wall of Sackville Street Building


Our team of experts span a range of ages and disciplines, and work collaboratively within the University, with academics from other universities and with industry and government.

Meet our core academic and Professional Services team below. You can find our Dalton Cumbrian Facility team here

You can also find details of the members of our research community by visiting the University's Research Explorer.

Job title

  • Adrian Bull MBE

    Adrian Bull MBE

    Associate Director and BNFL Chair in Nuclear Energy and Society – Adrian joined the University in 2021, following 40 years in the UK nuclear industry with BNFL, Westinghouse and the National Nuclear Laboratory. His Dalton activities focus on Government policy around nuclear and energy, and on stakeholder and community engagement on nuclear issues.

  • Profile of staff member William Bodel

    William Bodel

    Dalton Fellow in Nuclear Energy Policy – Will’s doctoral research into nuclear engineering materials focused on nuclear graphite and its behaviour under reactor conditions. He subsequently worked on material fracture and life-extension of the UK’s AGR fleet. His current research area is energy policy, focusing on the role nuclear energy can play in the future of the UK.

  • Profile of staff member Gregg Butler

    Gregg Butler

    Head of Strategic Assessment – Gregg has 60 years’ experience in most aspects of the nuclear fuel cycle: R&D, planning, commercial, plant, site and company operations and management, director and advisory committee roles. He has published extensively on nuclear topics, and is currently concentrating on Nuclear Energy’s role in Net Zero.

  • Jacqui Grant

    Jacqui Grant

    Operations Manager – Jacqui is Operations Manager for the Dalton Nuclear Institute with a primary role to support delivery of activities across the Manchester campus.

  • Profile of staff member Patrick Hackett

    Patrick Hackett

    Nuclear Waste Services Research Support Office (RSO) Programme Manager – Patrick is responsible for the delivery of the RSO’s activities, including the administration of its annual PhD bursary call, the development of research communities around 10 disciplines and the RSO annual conference.

  • Scott Heath

    Scott Heath

    Associate Director, Professor of Nuclear Chemistry - Scott’s current research involves development of analytical techniques for trace radioactive nuclides, and control of radioactive contaminants in engineered environments. He is Director of the GREEN Centre for Doctoral Training in Nuclear Fission, Associate Dean for Post Graduate Researcher Development and member of the Government Nuclear Skills Task Force.

  • Profile of staff member Zara Hodgson

    Zara Hodgson

    Director and Professor of Nuclear Engineering – Zara has a broad background in nuclear R&D, through the Nuclear Innovation & Research Office and the National Nuclear Laboratory, ranging from spent fuel management to nuclear power systems for space exploration. She joined the Institute in 2024 from the Department for Energy Security & Net Zero where she led on nuclear fuel policy.

  • Robert Jones

    Robert Jones

    Head of Operations - Robert is Head of Operations for the Dalton Nuclear Institute. He is based at the Dalton Cumbrian Facility (DCF), the University’s centre for radiation science. Robert completed his PhD at DCF in 2016 and has worked in various roles within the nuclear industry.

  • Rachel Law

    Rachel Law

    Engagement and Communications Manager – Rachel is responsible for the Dalton Nuclear Institute’s engagement and communications activity, and supporting the Dalton Community (based across The University of Manchester) and The Beam nuclear and social research network. She has been a part of the Institute since 2015.

  • Francis Livens

    Francis Livens

    Professor of Radiochemistry – With more than 35 years’ research experience across the fuel cycle, Francis has acted as advisor to the nuclear sector both in the UK and overseas. Francis is Chair of the Nuclear Innovation & Research Advisory Board and a Non Executive Director of the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (awarded the 2021 Becquerel Medal) and Member of the Institute of Strategic Studies.

  • Juan Matthews

    Juan Matthews

    Visiting Professor in Nuclear Energy Technology - Starting as a theoretical physicist Juan carried out and managed research on nuclear safety and advanced reactor systems at Harwell. He later set up and managed activities across Asia for AEA Technology, before working on international business and innovation in the nuclear and energy sectors, mainly for Government.

  • Katherine Morris

    Katherine Morris

    Associate Director and BNFL Chair of Environmental Radioactivity - Kath brings expertise in the speciation and fate of radionuclides in engineered and natural environments with over 20 years’ experience. She is Director of the Nuclear Waste Services Research Support Office, based at The University of Manchester.

  • Profile of staff member Lisa O'Neil

    Lisa O’Neil

    PA to Dalton Nuclear Institute Directors and Project Support to James Schofield Nuclear Lab Control Manager.

  • Samantha Roberts

    Samantha Roberts

    Administrator – Sam is an experienced administrator who has worked in the Dalton Nuclear Institute since 2012, providing day-to-day support to the team and to Dalton-led events. She has worked on several nuclear projects including NNUMAN, EPSRC Compositional and Structural Evolution of Plutonium Dioxide, and the NWS Research Support Office

  • Profile of staff member Alice Seaman

    Alice Seaman

    Outreach and Communications Assistant Undergraduate Placement – Alice is taking a year out of her BA Geography at The University of Manchester to undertake a placement with the Dalton Nuclear Institute.

  • Profile of staff member Clint Sharrad

    Clint Sharrad

    Deputy Director, Professor of Nuclear Engineering – Clint has more than 20 years’ experience in translating the understanding of radionuclide behaviour in various systems to support developing and optimising engineered processes across the entire nuclear fuel cycle. He is the lead for the Nuclear Engineering, Science and Technology (NEST) facility and the Molten Salts in Nuclear Technology Laboratory National Nuclear User Facility.

  • Richard Taylor

    Richard Taylor

    Associate Director and BNFL Chair in Nuclear Energy Systems - Richard was previously the Chief Engineer of the UK’s National Nuclear Laboratory. Richard has over 30 years of experience within the UK nuclear industry. He is a professional engineer with a background in the design, construction and commissioning of nuclear facilities. Richard is a co-founder of The Beam nuclear and social research network.

Energy research beacon

The University of Manchester’s research beacons are examples of pioneering discoveries, interdisciplinary collaboration and cross-sector partnerships that are tackling some of the biggest challenges facing the planet. Discover more about our Energy research beacon.


  • Edward Dobson - Energy Beacon Communications and Marketing Manager